You are here:

Car Safety Features

Safety features in cars are always improving. In 2004, the average new car safety rating was 4 stars and rose to 4.5 stars by 2009. Newer cars usually perform a lot better in crashes. People who were involved in serious crashes in cars manufactured between 2003 and 2005 are on average around 45% less likely to experience significant road trauma than those in cars manufactured in 1980.

Today, the essential safety features include;

  • electronic stability control (ESC) to help maintain control of the car when avoiding hazards
  • curtain airbags for side head protection
  • auto emergency braking (AEB) to avoid or reduce the severity of rear end crashes.

All of these features work together to avoid collisions and to protect you if a crash does occur.

To help you make a more informed decision about how well different cars will protect you in a crash, take a look at the safety ratings provided by the Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP) and Used Car Safety Ratings (UCSR)

Recently Viewed Cars


Recent News

Five Star Safety Rating For Many Used Cars Without Breaking The Bank

Used cars can offer great value, particularly for those on low budgets who can’t afford showroom expenses. But not all used cars are principally safe – in fact, a driver in the worst rated vehicle in this year’s Used Car Safety Ratings is ten times more likely to be killed or seriously injured than a driver in a vehicle in the safest category.

The 2016 Used Car Safety Ratings are a resource to help motorists buy a safe, second-hand car

How well will your car protect you from death and serious injury?