You are here:

Rating Process

Achieving 5 Stars

From 2008 for ANCAP to assign the coveted 5 star rating the car model tested will need to have electronic stability control.

International Crash Testing for consumer information is also conducted in the USA, Japan, Korea and Europe.

Euro NCAP Testing

European NCAP (Euro NCAP) testing procedures are substantially the same as ANCAP testing procedures. However the Euro NCAP results are to be used as a guide only, as the structure and equipment of the European specification model may differ materially from that of the Australian or New Zealand car of the same name. Also, if different safety equipment is fitted, the Australian or New Zealand car of the same name is likely to provide different levels of protection to those noted.

Recently Viewed Cars


Recent News

New medium SUV from MG scores a 4 star rating Toyota Avensis for NZ scores 5

The Australasian New Car Assessment Program (ANCAP), Australasia’s leading independent vehicle safety advocate, today published safety ratings for the MG GS medium SUV and Toyota Avensis wagon.

The 2016 MG GS hitting the barrier in the frontal offset test.

The 2016 Used Car Safety Ratings are a resource to help motorists buy a safe, second-hand car

How well will your car protect you from death and serious injury?